Solitary Confinement

I sit here and remember
I remember the children laughing
As then ran in the fields
And their mother watching
As she went about her daily chores
Songs dancing in the air
Joy touching every heart
As they whistle tunes of glee

But then the screams begin
Blood curling sounds that
Fiercely drag them out of their utopia
It starts to rain ,angry droplets
That mix with the blood red earth
The thunder finds its harmony
With the gunshots over mercy pleas
The lightning provides the stage lighting

Sirens sound in the distance
Shadows of the night melt
Away , as I come out of hiding
Hands tremble as I pick up the sabre
That brought death to my door step
The blood forms a stream much like
The ones that flow from my eyes
Suddenly many hands descend on me

I sit here and remember
The way they looked at me
Their eyes screamed guilty
Screams much louder
Than my heart’s cries
They gathered to hear my case
But heard only the denials
Of a blood thirsty madman

So here I sit, alone with
My tears, my memories,
All that care to torture me
A shadow of a man that dreams
Of a life that never existed
Who is to say it did? None
For alone I sit, alone I cry
In my solitary confinement